NZARH Honorary Associates

(Note: Underlined links lead to off-site information about our Associates.)

Gianni Bartocci, Professor Emeritus, Languages and Literature, University of Guelph, Canada.

H James Birx, Professor of Anthropology, Canisius College, Buffalo, Visiting Scholar Harvard University 1997, author of Theories of Evolution (1984), Human Evolution (1988), Interpreting Evolution (1991).

Raymond Bradley, Professor of Philosophy Emeritus, Simon Fraser University, British Columbia; author of Possible Worlds (with Norman Swartz, 1979), and The Nature of All Being (1992).

Richard Dawkins, Author of The Selfish Gene (1976), The Blind Watchmaker (1986), River Out of Eden (1995), Climbing Mount Improbable (1996) Unweaving the Rainbow (1998), The Ancestor’s Tale (2005), The God Delusion (2006), and The Greatest Show on Earth (2009).

Warwick Don, retired Senior Lecturer in Zoology, University of Otago. Zoologist, skeptic, humanist, and critic of creationism.

Sanal Edamaruku, Secretary General of the Indian Rationalist Association, founder and editor of the Internet bulletin Rationalist International.

Brian Edwards, CNZM, broadcaster, raconteur, author of The Public Eye (1971), Intemperate Outbursts (1989), Brian’s Week (1998); co-author of Bungay on Murder (1983) and How to Survive and Win with the Media (2000).

Levi Fragell, Past President, International Humanist & Ethical Union.

Annie Laurie Gaylor, co-founder and current co-president of the Freedom From Religion Foundation.

Maurice Gee, novelist, four-times winner of New Zealand Book Award, twice-winner of Wattie Award, winner of 1998 Montana Wines Award for Fiction for Living Bodies. Author of The Big Season (1962), In My Father’s Den (1972), Plumb (1978), Going West (1992), Loving Ways (1996), and other works.

Finngeir Hiorth, Norwegian philosopher, author of Introduction to Atheism (1995) and Introduction to Humanism (1996).

Paul Kurtz, Professor Emeritus of Philosophy (SUNY). Editor-in-chief Free Inquiry, Chairman of Council for Secular Humanism, Vice-president of Rationalist Press Association, Author of The Transcendental Temptation (1986), Forbidden Fruit: The Ethics of Humanism (1988), Eupraxophy: Living Without Religion (1989), The New Skepticism (1993) and other titles.

Lavanam, Director of the Atheist Centre, Vijayawada, India.

Richard Leakey, paleoanthropologist, museum administrator, wildlife conservationist, author of The Making of Humankind (1994), and co-author with Roger Lewin of The Sixth Extinction: Biodiversity and Its Survival (1995).

Timothy Madigan, humanist scholar and author; Chairman of Editorial Board, Free Inquiry; co-editor of Challenges to the Enlightenment.

Taslima Nasrin, author, journalist, freedom-fighter, forced into exile from Bangladesh.

Robert Nola, Emeritus Professor of Philosophy, University of Auckland. Author of Religion is Owed No Respect and many other articles.

Jean-Claude Pecker, Astrophysicist. Member of the Academie des Sciences. President of the French Association for Scientific Information.

Ian Plimer, Professor of Mining Geology, The University of Adelaide, author of Telling Lies for God (1994) and A Short History of Planet Earth (2001).

Younas Shaikh, physician, human rights campaigner, founder of the humanist group Enlightenment, forced into exile from Pakistan.

Dame Catherine Tizard, former Mayor of Auckland (1983-90) and Governor-General of New Zealand (1990-96).

Ibn Warraq, author of Why I am Not a Muslim (1995); editor of Origins of the Koran (1998), The Quest for the Historical Muhammad (2000), What The Koran Really Says (2002), and Leaving Islam (2003).

Lewis Wolpert, Professor of Biology as Applied to Medicine, University College, London; author of The Unnatural Nature of Science (1992), and Malignant Sadness (1999); co-author of Principles of Development (1998) and Passionate Minds (1998).

Past Honorary Associates (Deceased)

Dame Barbara Goodman (1932-2013). former Auckland City Councillor, convenor of the Campaign for Tolerance 1985-6.

Denis Dutton (1944-2010), Associate Professor of Philosophy, University of Canterbury.

Antony Flew (1923-2010), Professor Emeritus in Philosophy, University of Reading, author of God and Philosophy (1966), An Introduction to Western Philosophy (1989), Darwinian Evolution (1984), Atheistic Humanism (1993) and many other titles.

Steve Cooper (1915-2009), Auckland writer and retired businessman, author of Liberty to Live (1980), To Hell with God? (1991), and Origins of the Christian Faith (2000).

Zoë During, MBE, President of ALRANZ (Auckland Branch), trustee of Pacific Foundation of Health, Education and Parent Support, longtime campaigner on moral, social and health issues.

Bernard Howard, Professor Emeritus in Biochemistry, Lincoln University, Secretary of NZ Skeptics.

Derek Lawden (1919-2008), Head of Mathematics University of Canterbury (1957-1967).

Anwar Shaikh (1928-2006), editor of Liberty, author of Islam: The Arab Imperialism (1998) and other titles.

Sir Hermann Bondi (1919-2005), KCB, FRS, President, Rationalist Press Association. Developer of the Steady State Theory of the universe.

Kenneth Maddock (1937-2003), Editor Polemic (1961-2); Emeritus Professor in Anthropology, Macquarie University, Sydney. Author of The Australian Aborigines: A Portrait of Their Society (1972, 1982 & 1986), Your Land is Our Land (1983) and other titles; writer and consultant on anthropological issues. NZARH Honorary Associate (1998).

Ida Gaskin, CNZM, Shakespearean scholar, educator.

Michael Martin, Professor of Philosophy Emeritus, Boston University, author of Atheism: A Philosophical Justification (1990), The Case Against Christianity (1991), and The Big Domino in the Sky (1996).

Barbara Smoker, Past president National Secular Society (1971-1996), author of Humanism (1973) and Good God! (1977)

David Tribe (1931 – 2017), Past President National Secular Society (1968-71), author of 100 Years of Freethought (1967), President Charles Bradlaugh MP (1971), Nucleoethics (1972), et al.